Vegan Out: Day 2

Tuesday began in a rather normal fashion, with a drowsy shower followed by a cup of coffee with almond milk. Well, with a teensy bit of what’s left of the almond milk.  Love that mug!

Breakfast was the shiniest Apple I’ve ever seen, and a Kashi Almond Bar. Here brings up the debate about honey – most Vegans do not eat honey but some do. Why not eat honey? Well, as one website puts it, “Veganism is a way of living which excludes all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, the animal kingdom, and includes a reverence for life” and goes on to explain further that honeybees are without a doubt animals, because they are from the phylum Arthropoda – the same as lobsters and crabs.

Had enough science for the day? Long story short, I have granola bars and cereal in my house that are Vegan with the exception of honey, and because I’m unwilling to throw out the food that’s already been purchased, I’ll be eating them. Hope that’s fine with you fine folks!

I had a meeting for work this morning, which began with a morning session of panelists from my industry and ended with a lunch. When registering for this event, I requested a vegetarian meal, and got a “we’ll see if we can do that” response, so I realistically prepared myself to only eat the salad that’s typically served as an appetizer and then pick at my side dishes.

Lunch Menu: Duck Salad and Beef Tenderloin

Aaaaand strike three, Bella’s out! I left early and hit 16th Street mall to find some greenery.

Honestly, I was a little bummed that after a bit of googling and walking, a salad was my only downtown Vegan option. I ended up at local salad chain, Mad Greens.

I had the King Tut salad, which was made up of baby greens, couscous, garbanzo beans, tomatoes, currants, apricots and sunflower seeds. I topped all that madness off with some low fat balsalmic. Honestly, if it weren’t for the sunflower seeds this salad would have bored me to death.

Going

Going

Gone

I demolished the whole thing and was still hungry. Lame. Headed back to my office for a date with a Clif Bar.

After work, I met my friend Kellie for a Hot Power Fusion Yoga class and then we headed to local Veg-Vegan joint City o’ City. Turns out even Vegans can’t stay away from junk food. 

Appetizer: Onion Rings.  I had 1 or 4

Meet the Urban Cowgirl: Chipolte Marinara, Pineapple, Green Peppers, Vegan Mozzarella and Onion Rings. Yes, more Onion Rings. (Although next time I’ll probably order it without – I think I would have liked it better that way)

This pizza dominated me. I have been known to put down an entire City o’ City pie and I could only get down two pieces of this bad girl. 

 As far as the Vegan Cheese goes, it was a bit lacking but I’m sure I could get used to it. The consistency was baby food-ish, and I would have liked to taste a bit sharper and saltier.

All in all, it was a great day! I was super productive at work, I got my butt kicked in yoga, then enjoyed a beer and a few slices with a dear pal. I could get used to this Vegan thing – I’m feeling totally satisfied and guilt free!

(Writers note:  I was up with a stomach ache all last night and so was Kellie, so no more Onion Rings for us!)

Big Guy, I know you’re thinking, “Well Duh!”

One response to “Vegan Out: Day 2

  1. Preston September 29, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Too bad the salad didn’t fill you up. It sounds and looks quite tasty. Great job on sticking with vegan diet so far!

Leave a comment