Vegan Out: Day 1

It’s 2:32 pm on Day 1 and my stomach hurts. I’m super hungry, and it’s completely my fault. I’m not sure where I went wrong, but my lunch (sweet potato with walnuts and a side of green beans) was a total bust. The potato is so dry I can barely get into it, and the green beans look like Madonna’s creepy old lady hands. Not appetizing at all.

Good thing I brought snacks!

Since going Veg, I pretty much always have snacks.  It prevents me from making huge food mistakes!

Celery & PB – classic Kindergarten snack and still one of my favorites

I had two Clif bars as well, as an apple and celery do not a lunch make.  After work, I had a soccer game.  Not much to report there, we lost 4-0 and I received a swift kick to the shin by an overzealous man, resulting in a rather large egg-looking wound on my leg.  Injury to insult?

Would you believe that I felt like having some Mexican food for dinner?

I cooked up a “Taco Salad” with Polenta

Ingredients: Red Leaf Lettuce, Jalapeno Black Beans, Red Bell Peppers, Tomatoes, Avocados & Polenta

For Dressing, I used my favorite spicy (and local!) salsa

After assemblage, I decided to crumble up a handful of Multi-Grain crunchies in there

Mixed Up.  Then devoured…Hunger Pains be gone!

On an ending note, I have been laughing for a few days about a comedy bit I heard on the radio, so I thought I’d share!

Where’s your flute, Greg?

One response to “Vegan Out: Day 1

  1. Preston September 29, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    I guess I won’t be fantasizing about Madonna until I can get old withered green bean hands out of my head.

Leave a Reply

