Vegan Out: Day 3

Have you ever been so busy during your day that you literally don’t have time to eat? That has happened today. I’m beginning this post at 2:46 pm and all I’ve had to eat is an emergency bag of almonds I had stashed in my desk and a Luna bar. Obviously I didn’t photo those. Since I’m likely to be eating leftover pizza for dinner tonight, this might shape up to be the most uninteresting post ever.  Lo siento homebodies.

Fast Forward: “Lunch” didn’t arrive until I got home at 5pm, and was leftovers + another shiny apple

Hunger headache aside, I headed to the front porch for the mail and found a lovely surprise:  A package from my dear girl Mack who lives in San Fran.  I couldn’t wait to see what delights were in store.

I opened it and found all sorts of wonderful treats

It contained local (San Francisco) coffee and a cool contraption for making it.

It also contained some Vegan cookies which I couldn’t wait to try!

Thanks Mackenzie Lulu for my wonderful treats.  I just love getting things in the mail, it’s pretty much the best thing ever!

After some pizza consumption and package opening, I walked down to yoga for an advanced class.  After a pretty challenging hour, I found myself tearing up in final Savasana.  I felt so exhausted which made me feel so alive and then so grateful.  I considered all of the stories I’d encountered lately about life – I watched a documentary about Terry Fox before class, and feel deeply saddened about the suicide of Tyler Clementi, a freshman at Rutgers who jumped to his death from the George Washington bridge after his roommate broadcast a video of him during an intimate moment.   Terry Fox was diagnosed with cancer at just 19 and had his leg amputated shortly thereafter.  Instead of feeling sorry for himself, Terry was a man possessed – he decided he would run across Canada to raise money for cancer research despite only having one leg.  Unfortunately, Terry succumbed to cancer and was unable to finish his Marathon for Hope.  On the flip side, Tyler Clementi, a kind and talented musician, was unable to see past a horrendously invasive act by an uncaring peer.  So my thoughts were with Terry, who would probably have given anything to keep on living, and Tyler, who had the opportunity to live and simply couldn’t see past his current situation.  My thoughts came full circle and I cried on my yoga mat.

That’s the end of Day 3.

One response to “Vegan Out: Day 3

  1. mack September 30, 2010 at 10:46 am

    I’m glad that you liked the package– those cookie ended up being timely!

    Thanks for sharing your “full circle” moment in this post. I miss you so much, and I’m lucky to have your friendship.


    Mackenzie

Leave a Reply

