SXSWestern

Hi!  I missed you guys and I missed writing about food!  So I guess now I’ll exist in both places.  How selfish of me!  Anyhow, onto what I came back here for.  Fooooooood.

My journey with food is ever-evolving and the further along I get, the weirder I get about what I will and won’t eat.  Lately, I’ve had some serious guilt accompanying any seafood intake.  So, I’ve decided to cut that out of my diet as much as humanly possible, which leaves me teetering somewhere between vegetarianism and (gasp!) veganism.

That being said, I’ll move on with the post.  SXSW is currently on, which has put me in a bit of a Texas state of mind.  I never thought anyone would put Vegan and BBQ or Vegan and Texas in the same sentence, but leave it up to the fantastic Moby to make it happen.  After reading this Cest la Vegan post about a Vegan BBQ Moby hosted at SXSW this past weekend, I had Texas food on the brain.

More specifically -Mexican food.  Yah, I’m back.  Did you miss me?

I tried a new soy “meat” product – Smart Life’s Mexican Crumbles.  $2.99 filled about 6 tacos which is a-okay with me!

I have to admit, though, that I firmly believe that beautiful caramelized onions and peppers make the meal.

The finished product was topped with fresh avocado and salsa and served with sweet potato fries on the side.  The sweet potatoes actually turned out pretty good – I always have trouble with them but this time heated the oven to 500 and coated the wedges with olive oil and salt before baking.  While they weren’t crunchy, they came out really tasty and didn’t stick to the pan.  I call that a success!

Now don’t let me fool you folks that aren’t familiar with SXSW.  It is NOT about food.  It’s all about the music, man.

So staying in that mind set, last night Preston and I went to catch a Seattle band called Telekinesis at the Hi-Dive.  They stopped in Denver on their way to South By Southwest so we got to participate in the festival by proxy.  They were a fun, punchy, high-energy band and we had a good time watching them while drinking some local brews.

Here’s a shot from the show:

So, I’ll leave you with a link to their song, Coast of Carolina, so you can experience some indie goodness as well.

One response to “SXSWestern

  1. Preston March 25, 2011 at 8:09 am

    I’m glad you made a comeback Bella.

Leave a Reply

