Spicing Things Up

Well, now that the BG and I are living together, we decided it was time to spice things up…

with a new magnetic spice rack!

Okay, this was entirely my project as I’ve wanted a nice, aesthetically pleasing way to organize the spices I use for cooking.  Yesterday brought a major apartment organization project, as we still had some bags, boxes, etc from Preston’s move lying around.  With him busy organizing his things away, I jumped at the project of clearing out some shelving and drawer space in the kitchen.

If you’ll notice – I have 4 empty jars I’ve yet to fill.  I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below about what spices you think every cook must have!  I need some ideas…

It wasn’t a cheap project with four racks totaling $60, but I couldn’t be happier with the result.  It’s nice, clean and modern looking, and not only gives me easier access to things while cooking, but it cleared up an entire cabinet shelf for other usages – which is huge in a small apartment!

Below my new spice rack, you’ll see some tofu cooking.  I continued the spicing things up initiative by assembling a curry.  I say assembling, because I used sauce from a jar.  Lame…or easy & delicious?  You decide.

I cooked some cubed tofu with sliced carrots, then added the sauce and let it simmer for 5 minutes or so.  When I was about ready to eat, I added some partially cooked peas for the remaining 5 minutes.  Adding them at the end ensures they aren’t overcooked and still firm.  And, you know I’ve gots to add the green!

I ate my entire (ahem, two) bowls before I remembered to snap a picture.  Fortunately Preston is a slower eater.


While I always enjoy curry, there wasn’t quite enough sauce for me.  I probably would have liked to use a jar and a half just for some extra sauce to soak in the rice.  Maybe next time!

I also have to brag about Preston’s decorating skills. He had a wonderful idea to move a chest I had into my closet into the living room and put my beautiful $20 thrift store mirror on top to add some more dimension to the room.  A few candles and flowers later, it was straight Pottery Barn Chic, y’all.  Bravo BG!

Here’s a view of  how it looks in our little loving living room, complete with a cameo by the big guy.  I’m a happy little bird in a cozy little nest!

In other news, Friday is the one year anniversary of my blog!  What should I do to celebrate?

2 responses to “Spicing Things Up

  1. Preston December 20, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Money well spent yesterday. The apartment is looking good!

  2. Abbey December 22, 2010 at 8:44 am

    speaking of spice, i made an indian dish last night! it was delicious, and quite easy actually – just a matter of finding the right spices. i’ll have to share the recipe with you upon my return

Leave a Reply

