Tex-Megs: Spinach & Sweet Potato Enchiladas

I’ve been wanting to experiment with different types of Vegetarian Enchiladas recently, and with my (chef) brother coming in town to go to a Nuggets game with me, I had the perfect opportunity to get creative. I decided to try to make them with ingredients I already had in the fridge, which included Spinach, Avocados and Sweet Potatoes. Here’s the result!

I like to peel, chop then steam my sweet potatoes because it’s fool proof, and they cook really quickly .

It’s always important to have snacks on hand while cooking.

BG bought us a econo-sized bag of fresh spinach this week.  Mmmmm sexy!

After steaming my potatoes, I pureed them and was ready to start rollin’ them up with my sauteed spinach.

In order to get your roll on with a minimum amount of frustration, heat  bit of oil in a pan and cook each tortilla for about 20 seconds on each side.  This will get them soft and ready to roll up.

Everybody get your Roll on!

I couldn’t resist sprinkling some feta cheese on top. (Which I subsequently learned does not melt) Here’s a close up of the filling.

I popped the tray in the oven at 350 and got to making the sauce – tomatillo salsa with a few fresh avocados.

What I learned during this process is that the Enchiladas should be smothered with sauce before they go in the oven – this helps keep the tortillas soft.  They came out pretty crunchy, like taquitos, but still tasted good.

I would have liked them with some spice, so next time I’m thinking I’ll add some hatch chiles to the sweet potatoes, and stick to a green chile topping.  All in all, a success for the first time out though!

One response to “Tex-Megs: Spinach & Sweet Potato Enchiladas

  1. Preston December 19, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    I had a few of the left overs and I would agree…success!

Leave a Reply

