California Dreamin’

Preston and I went to LA this past weekend for one of his friend’s wedding.  It was my first time to Southern California, and my second visit to the state all together.  (My dad took me to San Fran when I was 10)  Needless to say, I was really excited about meeting some of his friends and enjoying 80 degree weather.

We got in super early and started our day off with a really delish breakfast from Martha’s Cafe in Hermosa Beach.  I was so hungry I forgot to take pictures!  I had a breakfast quesadilla and the big guy had a really delish Medeterranian Tofu Scramble.  I ordered a whole grain pancake to share, but ended up being a total hog and ate the whole thing before BG could get a bite.  You snooze, you lose BG!  After breakfast, we hit the road to Laguna Beach.

I jumped for joy upon first sight of the ocean.

We bummed around town with Preston’s buddy Cameron, had a few beers and a coffee, then sat and watched the sunset.

Laguna was gorgeous!

 

After the sunset we headed up to Laguna Niguel to Cameron’s house for dinner and shenanigans.  I’m just realizing that I took NO pictures of the BG and all of his Mission Viejo High School  Buddies.  In California terms – Bummer Dude.  We had a fun night of talking, poker, and endless Coors Lights.

The next day, it was off to Temecula for the wedding.  It was gorgeous and so much fun, so I’ll just get right to the good stuff.

Sam & Carla

It was really fun to meet some of Preston’s soccer buddies.  Nate was my favorite!

We took advantage of the open bar and had one, two, three Malbecs before dinner.

We also made one, two, three trips to the cheese and olive snack table.

 And then enjoyed another California Sunset

We spent the rest of the night drinking Stellas and dancing.  There was also some major man love going on.   Here’s Preston & the Groom – AKA Sam the Man!  They love each other – just look at those big smiles!

The next morning, we woke up and decided to take advantage of being in wine country.  Upon the advice of one of the Big Guy’s buddies, we went to South Coast Winery.

We bellied up to the bar and were lucky to be served by a really personable and patient bartender.  We told him it was our first trip to a winery, and not only did he spend a lot of time talking us through choices, I’m pretty sure he hooked us up big time. 

We had purchased a total of 10 tastes, which were signified by poker chips.  Well, our bartender would only take a chip every 3-4 pours, so when we had 4 chips left, we had to call it quits.

I passed out fell asleep in the car on the way back to the South Bay.  We were told stories of how people go on these multiple winery tours.  I don’t know how they do it – I’d be a drunken mess!

We stayed at Casa Marsch in Hermosa that night, and I woke up early to go for a run along The Strand.  I finished just 2.5 miles but ran one of the fastest miles in my life in 7 minutes, 52 seconds.   It was such a thrilling and positive experience as I wasn’t even trying to run faster, I was just motoring along with a big goofy grin on my face, enjoying the scenery.

After my run, and another Tofu Breakfast from Martha’s, we decided to visit Venice Beach before heading back to LAX.  It was totally touristy – full of shops selling junk.

The locals were a lot more colorful than in Hermosa, so the people watching was pretty good.  There were also lots of people out being active – surfing, playing handball or basketball, or working out, so we stopped to watch/participate for awhile. 

I participated by playing trainer.  Here’s BG in the middle of my “Lift! Then Hold! Now Crunch!” move.   Looks tough!

On the way back to the car, we happend upon the Venice Canals.  It was such a cool little area!

I had to take one last California picture.

Then, it was straight to LAX for a sleepy plane ride back to Denver.  Oh, but only after listening to 2 hours of very loud Christmas Music in the Airport.  Really Los Angeles?

2 responses to “California Dreamin’

  1. Preston December 15, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    Bella, Another great trip! I’m glad you were able to make it.

  2. Abbey December 22, 2010 at 8:42 am

    Bella, looks like an amazing trip! Thank you for removing the food from your mouth before you smiled… unlike someone else! 😉

    P.S. no more emails coming your way, i figured out how to comment!!

Leave a Reply

