Lazy Bones, meet Sweet Tooth

I haven’t been doing a lot of cooking lately.  There have been lots of Raw Bars…

Lots of takeout from Whole Foods (Here – roasted harvest vegetables)

And even some insta-meals.  Tempeh is so good!


I meant to take a picture of this, but I was really hungry and sort of forgot…

It was pretty tasty!   And after spending a weekend at my parents house, where 2 caesar salads, a veggie wrap, pancakes, eggs & hash browns, sushi, salmon with potatoes and countless pounds of cheese and crackers were consumed, I arrived back home and decided I wanted to bake.

I had bought some fresh cranberries at le shopette so I made some Whole Wheat Cranberry Bread.  It was super simple and came out dense and hearty with just the right holiday kick.

Want to make it?  Here’s the recipe.  I used Whole Wheat Flour and substituted Vanilla extract for the orange peel.   I’m not a fan of really citrusy things.   I am a fan, however, of lathering things with Smart Balance.

I was also headed to watch the MLS Cup with some pals at a local bar, so I decided to make them some treats as well.  I broke out my raw almonds and the leftover chocolate peanut butter chips from my cookies, and made a little savory & sweet nut snack.

The hardest thing about this not hard at all recipe is just to melt the chocolate without scorching.  I usually put a handful of chips in the microwave for about 30 seconds, and then stir them until smooth.  Then you can just add more chips, bit by bit, and incorporate them until they are good and melted.  You might have to pop them back in the microwave for a few seconds, but just be cautious not to over cook or you’ll get that creepy gritty chalky chocolate, which is obviously not edible.

Then just take that melty chocolate and heap it by the teaspoon over a cluster of almonds, or your favorite nut.

Put in the fridge to set, then enjoy.


One response to “Lazy Bones, meet Sweet Tooth

  1. Preston November 22, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    What I’d do for a plate of those roasted harvest vegetables right now!

Leave a Reply

