Roasted Root Vegetables

Check out my forecast:

I had to scrape ice off my car this morning so that means it’s officially fall/winter or somewhere in between and therefore officially time to cook some Root Vegetables – specifically Beets.  There are three restaurants in Denver that I frequent because of their Beet-Centric dishes (Watercourse’s Champ Sandwich, Lala’s Beet Pizza, and Green Fine Salad Co’s Chef Jam Salad) so I figured it was about damned time that I learned how to prepare these nutritionally rich gems at home.

Boy was I in for a mess. The preparation was fairly simple – I removed the greens and scrubbed the beets clean. I drizzled them with olive oil and wrapped them whole in a foil envelope.   Into the oven they went and after about an hour at 375 degrees, they were done.

The resulting mess was due to me attempting to slide the skin of the beets off once they had cooled. Those skins weren’t going anywhere, so I took a tester bite, determined the skins tasted just fine, and left them on.  A few minutes were definitely spent marveling at how much my kitchen looked like a murder scene, complete with blood red beet juice on my hands.  

 I chopped up my beets into bite sizes and am going to add them to my lunch salad tomorrow along with some sweet potatoes and a wild mushroom couscous that tastes frighteningly close to my Mom’s Thanksgiving Stuffing.  Amore!

Long story short – don’t be scared of the beet!  It can be a complete mess to prepare, but they are totally worth it!

One response to “Roasted Root Vegetables

  1. Preston November 12, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    Wow, I can’t believe how warm it’s going to be come Tuesday…47!

Leave a Reply

