Sunday Runday

I met Merrily at City Park for a run at 10am, which my body really thought was 11am thanks to Daylight Savings time!  It was so beautiful outside and there were gorgeous views of the city and mountains.

After about 4.5 sunny fall miles, I went to my favorite local java joint, St. Marks, and had a breakfast (egg & cheese) bagel and giant cup of coffee.  I was so hungry and caffeine deficient at that point that I scarfed everything down before taking a photo.  I then broke out my big book and soaked up some sun.

I got home and continued to wage war against the leaves in my backyard.  They fall, I sweep, they fall again, I sweep again.  After all that sweepage, I was still hungry so I cooked up a fake ‘dilla.  Fake because it was sans queso.

Whole wheat tortilla, spicy hummus, fresh spinach and a sprinkle of almonds for crunch and protein.

It comes out warm, spicy and crunchy – pretty satisfying snack!  I have to tell you now that I’ve been to a new place, Yogurtland, three times in the past three days.  It’s pretty freaking amazing – It’s self-serve so you can have as much or as little as you want, and put as many flavors in one cup as your little heart desires.  I’ve been doing the no sugar added Dark Chocolate plus a second flavor.  (Pumpkin Pie, Peanut Butter, Strawberry Respectively)  I might go there again tomorrow.  Don’t judge.

For dinner I really wanted to max out my veggie intake.  Friends, meet what henceforth will be referred to as The Green Monster!!

Is it salad?  Is it pasta?  Well, it’s both.  I started with a new pasta base:

I roasted some Broccoli (after chopping it up on the new Pampered chef mat my Mom got me – Thanks Mom!)

And prepared my other ingredients: Fresh Spinach, Veggie Curls Pasta & Asiago Cheese


After the pasta was cooked, I tossed it all together with some Pesto and sprinkled the Asiago on top.  It was a green superfood bonanza and I loved it!  I think next time I’ll blend some ripe avocados and fresh pine nuts in with the basil to make a creamier sauce with more texture.  But all in all, a super meal!

Alright, I’m settling in for some MLS Soccer action with a glass of Hob Nob.  I wish my remote had a “Mute Alexi Lalas” button.  Oh well, it’s an imperfect world.   Enjoy your Sunday evenings friends!

3 responses to “Sunday Runday

  1. Ashley November 8, 2010 at 6:23 am

    omg! we have a self serve here in lex called orange leaf! love it. we’ve been three times since it opened last week. i won’t judge you!

  2. Preston November 8, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    You’re not an Alexi Lalas fan? I don’t understand?

Leave a Reply

