Crunching my way into Fall

If you haven’t treated yourself to a Honeycrisp apple this fall, get thineself to the grocery store immediately.  I’ve had them from two different stores, and my friend Carissa even did some sampling in Texas, and we’re in agreement – they are the best apples we’ve ever had.  Oversized, juicy, slightly sweet and super crunchy.  I couldn’t ask for more

I was crunching on this when I noticed the trees outside my office window are changing.  Quite pretty.

I knew I needed to do a body good after yesterday’s food shenanigans, so I headed over to pick up one of my favorites, the salad roll, from Whole Foods.  I also picked up some raw cashews, because according to the documentary Food Matters, a few handfuls of cashews have the same effect on the brain as a dose of Prozac.  Sounds like a pretty good solution for my 3pm slump!

I needed to grab a quick bite after work to avoid eating bar food with my pals before a concert.   After hearing about the big guy’s multiple sushi excursions in the past few weeks, and seeing an episode of Bobby Flay’s Throwdown about Sushi, it was on my brain.  I got to a local place, Sonodas, just in time for happy hour which meant $2 Nigiri and $4-5 Rolls.  Yes please! 

Maguro x2

Hamachi

Spicy Tuna Roll

Shrimp Tempura Roll

At first I was worried I over did it, but it went down like buttah.

Then it was off to see The National.  They put on an amazing show and ended with a really personal encore.  They stood in a line on the stage and sang a capella and encouraged the crowd to sing along.  It was beautiful!

In other lovely news, I’m off to Boston tomorrow night to see my BG!  I’m so excited to be reunited with my numero uno partner in crime. 

 We’ve got a weekend of pho, foliage, soccer, beers and wicked awesome fun planned.  Catch you on the flip side!

 

One response to “Crunching my way into Fall

  1. Preston October 20, 2010 at 5:30 am

    I hope that bag is packed. I’m ready for you!

Leave a Reply

