Vegan Out: Day 19

Friday was the day of noodles.  My friend Lauren is in town from New York, where she lives a sassy urban life as a West Sider.  I can’t wait to go visit her!  Plus, my other friend Lauren is moving to NYC in the coming months, so I’ll have two of my most favorite people to visit in one exciting place.  I might start making my sightseeing and restaurant list now…

But moving on, for breakfast I stopped at Starbucks (TGIF to me!) for a Soy Vanilla Latte.  It was sort of a puny effort – I drank my coffee and had some Sahale Almonds.  That was it!

I made up for it at lunch with the gals – Veggie Lo Mein.  I ate the ENTIRE bowl.  Pretty impressive, I must say.

I made it through the rest of the day without a food coma which is so exciting! I high tailed it out of work just a few minutes early to make a 5:30 yoga class.  While I love the postures, the heat and the intense stretches and muscle work of yoga, I really haven’t grasped the whole breathing and mental aspect of the practice.  I do think that a lot of people are able to ooze gratitude and love and thankfulness while in class…I’m just not sure how to do that  yet.  Hopefully it will come with time as it would be nice to get a mental workout as well!

Leaving class, I spotted something very exciting in the clearance bin in the clothing shop of my studio…a tank top I saw and wanted three months ago but passed on because it was $55!  I bent down, checked the size and was super stoked – it was mine! With a 75% discount the  grand total was just $14.  It’s really exciting to resist shopping urges only to be rewarded for your thriftiness later.

Once again during class, I was daydreaming about food.  The idea that came to me was “Cheesy” Pasta with Asparagus.

After class, I went home and got after it! Started with a little olive oil and Asparagus in a pan.

Then I added my leftover noodles from the other night right into the pan with some more olive oil, Nooch, Vegan “Parmesan” and Garlic Salt.  Nooch = Nutritional Yeast, available in the bulk section of your Whole Foods, and an amazing topping for popcorn and just about everything else.  It’s a staple in all vegan recipes that look to mimic cheesiness.

I added some slow roasted tomatoes, and let all that goodness sautee up for a few minutes.  Then, it was time to eat!

This pasta was tasty but definitely needed a shake of salt to dial it up a bit.  I ate everything you saw in that pan and was super happy about it.  Pasta count for the day – about 2 pounds.  Believe it or not, a bit later I was pretty hangry again, so I decided on some dessert.

Strawberries with Hersheys and a cup of chocolate almond milk.  Done and Done.

I stayed up till a rowdy 10:17 pm. Booya!

One response to “Vegan Out: Day 19

  1. Preston October 16, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    It sounds like you had a good day of eats. Nice job on the bargain tanker.

Leave a Reply

