Vegan Out: Day 16

I have to tell you, I’m going to look for some new things to talk about after this little Vegan experiment is over.  I’m tired of just typing out what I eat everyday, especially since  lot of the time the food isn’t terribly dynamic.  But today was different!  Well, except for breakfast…

Apples & Peanut Butter.  No Photo.

It was the first of a few months worth of gloomy days today, which sadly put me in a bit of a gloomy mood.  Once this time of year hits, I’m usually chilly for 4-5 months until spring rolls around.  Fortunately, I’ve got an unlimited Hot Yoga membership to help get me through this winter, so I don’t have to pack away my tank tops this year.

So the rain and 40 degree weather left me feeling very unenthusiastic about lunch prospects.  I wanted something warm and healthy – it was definitely not a salad day.  I drove a bit aimlessly in the direction of Whole Foods (where else) before deciding on Qdoba!

Genius!  Warm, spicy and guaranteed to fill my stomach


It had rice, black beans, fajita vegetables, guacamole and green salsa.  I wonder if anyone has ever just requested a just a guacamole burrito.  That’s all I really want anyhow….

Back at my office I my day got a lot less gloomy.  I found a super cheap flight to Boston for next weekend on Jet Blue, and booked it right away!  I had to refrain from doing a little happy scream & dance in my office.  I’m off to see the Big Guy in 9 days!

This was my face as I clicked the “Book Flight” button

I spent the rest of the day with sunshine on my shoulder, not even bothered by the bit of traffic I encountered on the drive up to my Dad’s house.  My Dad just moved to Evergreen, a place I had never visited, and the drive up was gorgeous.  I didn’t take any pics, obvs, because picturing while driving is muy dangerous.

But check out his backyard view!

Dad knew about my current state of Vegan, so he made some delicious Vegetable Soup.  It was really so good – I would have had two bowls if it hadn’t filled me up so much the first go around.

Big Chunks equal Big Smiles

It was great Dad, thanks!  I was so excited to get the recipe, and will share it with you all when I make it.

Have a great Wednesday!

4 responses to “Vegan Out: Day 16

  1. Kevin October 13, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Glad you liked it, and glad to have you up to Evergreen! Come back after the vegan experiement when I’ll have a bit more culinary latitude to work with.

    • Meghan October 13, 2010 at 2:54 pm

      There is a lot more to be had when cheese and bread are available as ingredients, that’s for sure! But the soup was great and I’ll definitely be making it again.

  2. Preston October 13, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    I’m keeping my fingers crossed for good weather when you make it out here. I can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

