Vegan Out: Day 13

I woke up pretty late on Saturday morning – so late in fact that I didn’t even have coffee…GASP!  I’m pretty surprised that I could even get my shoes on and put myself together to leave the house to go shopping.

First meal of the day was with my Mom at Whole Foods.  I chose some veggie sushi and a vegan thumbprint jam cookie.  So good!

Our next stop was West Elm to get my mom a new duvet for her bed.  I just love West Elm.  It’s a lot like what I’d want my house to look like in the future- Clean, comfortable, inviting.  Here’s a bed set I’ve been wanting for, oh,  about the past 9 months. I just might buy it for myself one of these days!

On to the food – dinner was some leftover Kung Pao tofu from last night.  I didn’t photograph it, because leftover chinese is not so attractive….

After dinner, I was still hungry, so I did some quick googling: “Is Hershey’s Syrup Vegan?”

The answer was an exciting YES! so I whipped up a snack of chocolate almond milk

On a side note, I named the best pet on the planet, our family’s chocolate lab, Hershey about 16 years ago. Sadly, he is not still with us.

He was a really good boy, and tolerated all sorts of shenanigans, like allowing people who are much too large to lay on him, lay on him.

Sometimes, even though I walked him into the vet’s office to be put down,  I forget that he’s dead.  I think that’s what happens when people, places or even animals that are unspeakably important to you are suddenly gone.

But moving on…I was still hungry after my chocolate milk snack, so I filled a bowl with some booty.

Veggie Pirates Booty, that is!  Aaaargh you hungry?!

I have to say, I like the regular flavor of Pirates Booty much more than the Veggie (it sort of tastes like veggie pesto), but it’s not “Vegan Friendly” so it was bumped off the shopping list.  Upon visiting the Pirates Booty website, I have to say I’m pretty stoked to track down the “NY Pizza” flavor. Hellllooo snack time!

In tomorrow’s post – did I break the diet and eat some Cheese on my Frito Pie, or did I stay the course?  Stay tuned!

2 responses to “Vegan Out: Day 13

  1. Ashley October 11, 2010 at 5:45 am

    oh how i miss the h-man. love the shout out. you know his birthday is next tuesday? can’t believe it’s been five years now without him. oh and i’m no vegan (never. duh.) but i looooooove pirates booty! love the blog!

    • Meghan October 11, 2010 at 7:48 am

      Thanks Ash! I’m no vegan either, I’m on a three week experiment. I’ve got 7 days until I’m going to bury my face in a big plate of Pad Thai.

Leave a Reply

