Vegan Out: Day 9

I’ve been feeling a bit funky the past few days and am still wondering if this vegan diet is to blame.  Yes, I’m feeling light while eating absolutely everything I want.  But I’m also feeling lethargic during the day and sleeplessness at night, along with a nagging thirst that I can’t seem to quench.  I’ve googled some of these symptoms without any real answer, so I guess I’ll just deal with it and move on. 

Day 9: The day I ate veggie burgers and tried Daiya for the first time

Breakfast was coffee, apple with peanut butter and banana chips.  Spared you the photo. 

I was craving some junk food, so I went to my local WF and bought some Amy’s Veggie Burgers (Low Sodium, y’all), Daiya “Cheddar Cheese” and Ezekiel Whole Sprouted Hamburger Buns. 


Daiya claims that it melts, so I had to put it to the test

After a few minutes in the pan, it gets a grade of C- for meltiness

All assembled with onions, tomatoes, spinach and ketchup, it makes for a nice hearty burger.  Those Ezekiel buns are a meal in themselves.  Although I have to say, I wasn’t crazy about the Daiya Vegan “Cheese”.  It had a funny flavor and didn’t really add much.  Some things just can’t be replicated, ya know?

For dessert I had some Soy Pudding.  I’ve found it interesting that a lot of these vegan products seem to be overly sweet.  That was my impression on first bite, then I quickly devoured the whole cup.  New favorite treat!

After work I went straight to Yoga, and then on a long distance date with the Big Guy to see “The Town”.   I packed another veggie burger and some banana chips to eat during the film.  The second burger was better because I loaded it up with an entire Avocado. 

I had so much fun watching The Town because I got to see a ton of places that the Big Guy and I have visited in the past 9 months of long distance dating.

It was set in Charlestown, which is where the Bunker Hill monument is

There was a big scene at Fenway Park, where one of the robbers walks right by this statue

My favorite part was a car chase through the North End, which is where the Big Guy lives.  (And also where Paul Revere lived)

It was a nice little mental trip to Boston that was much needed!

2 responses to “Vegan Out: Day 9

  1. Preston October 6, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    The Town was wicked awesome.

  2. Meghan October 6, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    You’re wicked awesome!

Leave a Reply

