Vegan Out: Day 8

Monday was a pretty perfect food day.  I loved everything I ate and had plenty of it.  I was really full at lunch and really full after dinner, but not in a gross “food coma” way.  I think this is one of the perks of a veg lifestyle!  On a side note, I’ve still been a bit tired and really thirsty lately.  Can’t necessarily attribute either to the diet, but it’s worth mentioning.

Breakfast was a repeat: Apple with Peanut Butter and Banana Chips.  I ate the last of the Banana Chips yesterday and am making haste to Whole Foods at lunch to replenish my stock.  I don’t like bananas, but love banana chips.  So it goes.

I went home for lunch and whipped up a spinach salad w/ strawberries, avocados and almonds, and added some wheat crackers with hummus and more avocados on the side.

Towards the end of my lunch I was craving some spice so I dabbed some Sriracha on my crackers. 

I’ve been having a serious chocolate jonesin lately so I stopped by Whole Foods on my way back to work and picked up a Vegan Chocolate Chip cookie.  I ate half of it as I began the second part of my work day. 

After work, I headed home for a night of “What can I cook with what I’ve got in my fridge”  The answer, surprisingly, was Sweet Potato Gnocchi!

You only need two things to make this beautiful dish: Sweet Potatoes and Flour!  Start by peeling, then chopping and boiling a sweet potato or two.  When they are soft, remove from boiling water and mash immediately.  Fold in flour 1/3 of a cup at a time, until you get a dough that’s not tacky but definitely not firm. 

Separate the dough into manageable pieces, then roll it into ropes on a lightly floured surface.  Cut the ropes into small pieces and roll them on a fork with your fingers.  The result will look something like this:

Drop them into boiling water (you can re-use the potato water from earlier) and when they float, remove with a slotted spoon and set aside.

While I was making the gnocchi, I had some onions carmelizing in another pan.  I didn’t make any sauce, so I added the cooked gnocchi to this pan and threw in some Smart Balance butter & sautéed until lightly brown.  When they were almost done (2-3 mins) I tossed in a handful of fresh spinach and stirred until just wilted. (30 seconds) For the final topping, I added some Vegan “Parmesan” which added a bit of saltiness and spice to the dish. 

The result was amazing.  It tasted so rich that I stopped eating after a few bites.  Then I went back and had two entire bowls.  The gnocchi consistency wasn’t perfect ( a little dense) but that being said, it was better than some gnocchi I’ve had in restaurants.  I think the less flour you use, the fluffier your gnocchi will be.  I’ll try this again soon with as little flour as possible.  Bon Appetit!

Of course, I wasn’t too full to eat the second half of my Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookie.  Happy Monday!

One response to “Vegan Out: Day 8

  1. Preston October 6, 2010 at 11:38 am

    I’m glad to hear you’re trying new dishes. The gnocchi sounds tasty.

Leave a Reply

