Vegan Out: Day 6

Weekends are glorious. Whether they are filled with plans and obligations, or completely wide open for whatever your fancy, they are always enjoyable. I woke up on Saturday with a place to be – the Big Guy’s sister’s baby party. I made some coffee, had a shower and then made my brunch contribution: A spinach salad with mandarin oranges, strawberries, avocados and almonds. I had two choices for dressing: Asian Sesame and Papaya Poppyseed. Both from Amy’s, both Vegan and both incredibly delicious.  With my salad packed, I made a breakfast to go (Apples & Banana chips) and hit the road for Boulder.

While there were many tempting offerings at the brunch, such as scones, pastries, cheese blintzes and bread pudding, I managed to stick to my guns and had two big servings of salad and some sliced fruit.

Partly because of the onset of Fall, and partly because I was already on my way back from Boulder and passing by the only place I knew carried them, I finally picked up my pair of Hunter Rain/Cold Weather boots. I’ve wanted these for a long time and am actually looking forward to the next rain so that I can put these bad boys on and go splash in puddles. Not kidding. I will probably NOT wear them with my Nike running shorts, however.

I got home and decided to take stock of my fridge. Noticing some produce items that were nearing the end of their usable lives, I made some Kitchen Sink “Chili” Which consisted of Black Beans with Cumin, Celery, Onions, Tomatoes and Red Bell Peppers. I simmered it all up on the stove, sliced some avos on top, tossed in some chips and went to town.

Post lunch brought Saturday chores: Laundry, Dishes, Sweeping, Etc which wasn’t terribly productive because at about 3pm I was swiftly and suddenly overwhelmed by sleepiness. It hit me like a ton of bricks and I fell asleep on the couch and slept entirely through the 4pm Yoga class I was planning on attending. I woke up wondering if this altered diet is getting to me, or if i’m just catching up from one of the longest weeks ever. Because of my 31 Days of Workouts, I knew I was due for a jog upon waking.

After the jog, I was a little sore and pretty hungry, so I decided to cook up one of the eggplants I have in my fridge. I marinated it with Amy’s Asian Seasame Dressing, then cooked it over the stove until it was brown and soft.

I made some brown rice and added that to the pan, along with some Bragg’s Amino Acids (which is a healthier version of Soy Sauce)

The result was good but not super exciting. I think next time I’ll add some more veggies to the rice and spice it up a bit.

I have a date with myself to go see a midnight showing of The Shining tonight at a local theater – we’ll see if I make it!

Leave a Reply

