Vegan Out: Day 4

Because I still have not been to the store to replenish my supply of Almond Milk, I began my day with a Grande Soy Skinny Vanilla Latte. It was super sweet! I think I’ll just stick to the plain ol’ Latte or Soy Misto next time.

Breakfast – standard

This week has been absolutely insane at work and home.  I’ve barely had any time to slow down, and certainly haven’t had time to cook any of the vegan recipes I’ve been amassing since deciding to embark on this little veg trip.  So you’ll see lots of restaurant and take out food in the coming days.  I’m hoping things will settle down to where I can actually 1. Restore my home to it’s clean and lovely state 2. Put on some Radio Paradise and get to cooking!   Until then, more food to go…

Lunch was al fresco at Whole Foods – a freshly made Tofu Salad Roll with Peanut Sauce.  It was so cold and crunchy and delicious, I just might get this again for lunch today. 

I thought for sure this wouldn’t be enough to fill me up, so I also bought edamame succotash and a locally made chocolate oat bar.

Sorry for the wonky photo, I can’t flip it for some reason…anyhow – I was full after my roll so I saved my edamame and the oat bar for my 3-4pm snack.  At first,  I wasn’t crazy about the oat bar – the consistency reminded me of one of those nasty Mrs. Fields gas station cookies.  Way too crumbly and weird.  As I continued to eat it (It is chocolate of course) I really began to enjoy and appreciate the natrual texture.   It was a great snack, which I needed because I was off to a work happy hour at 5pm!

My friend (and first boss) Mike is moving to England for a new job, so a bunch of friends got together at a local Mexican food joint to wish him the best!

Mike & Ben

Abbey&  I

We decided to eat dinner there, so I scoured the menu looking for an acceptable meal.  I ended up with a Guacamole Tostada which was more like a salad – it had black beans, lettuce, tomatoes, guacamole and salsa on it.  A few bites in, I realized the tostada was  flour and not corn tortilla, so I was a little bummed – I’d be shocked if it was vegan.  I thought I made the best choice but in hindsight I probably could have done better.  Oh well, it was tasty and the night went on.

Very dark photo of my meal:

After dinner we headed across the street to a bar known as The Vault. 

Genevieve had a big beer in a chalice  

And I had their special drink, which was vodka, ginger beer and a lime served in a copper cup.  I took one sip and passed it off to someone else – not my cup of tea booze.

Someone said that the bar was haunted and that the server could take us on a ghost tour.  I love stuff like that so I was the first person to hop out of my seat and head downstairs!

Our server told us that we were in one of the oldest buildings in Denver, and that it was a saloon/boarding house that had tunnels running to and from it during Prohibition. 

We saw the Vault, which is how the bar got it’s name – they didn’t even know it was there until they were doing renovations before opening!

There was an old elevator

As well as an original “Notice to Employees” still nailed to an old door

We took a group picture in front of the Vault

And then were told about how the bar is haunted by an saloon girl called Lydia that was murdered in the 1800’s

We decided to take some pictures in mirrors hoping she’d turn up

But no luck! 

3 responses to “Vegan Out: Day 4

  1. mack October 1, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    “I have always eaten animal flesh with a somewhat guilty conscience. So I am living without fats, without meat, without fish, but am feeling quite well this way. It always seems to me that man was not born to be a carnivore.” -Albert Einstein

  2. Preston October 2, 2010 at 11:21 am

    The oldest bar in denver which is possibily huanted…you must’ve been the happiest lady there.

Leave a Reply

