Lost Boys

I had my first Film on the Rocks experience on Tuesday.  How can I have lived in Colorado for 4 years and not done that yet?  I’ll never know.  But – my first FOTR experience could not have been any better.  I was screaming and giggling like a 12 year old the entire time.  Why?  The movie playing was Lost Boys, which I had yet to see.  It was so fabulously 80’s and so fabulously cheesy and vampire-filled.  I can’t put into words how much fun I had hooting & hollering alongside 8,000 other people at Red Rocks every time Kiefer Sutherland appeared on the big screen.

Here’s some shots from the night…

Meg and I tailgating.  It was really windy, and this picture will forever serve as a reminder that I would not look good with a pixie cut…

The view entering Red Rocks.  Can you see Denver way back there?

Local opening band – Snake Rattle Rattle Snake.  The lead singer Hayley is super sexy!

Some views from around the park

I discovered the Red Rocks museum for the first time.  My favorite pic was of Eddie Vedder in 1995

Finally the lights went down, and we were treated to beautiful views

And a Merrie Melodies Cartoon : Duck Dodger!

Then Lost Boys came on and I was immediately entranced by the vision of a vampire Kiefer Sutherland weaving through a carousel on a boardwalk in Santa Carla…

An hour and a half of yelling, popcorn, beer, wind and rain later, the film was over and the happy crowd headed back down to the big city.  Good night!

Leave a Reply

