Veggin’ out: Day 2

Yesterday was day two of this Veg-speriment, and I’ve got to say I’m feeling pretty good!  I’m sleeping well with no tummy aches, my food expenses haven’t changed and  I’m estimating I’m down a pound or two.  (Which wasn’t an intended result, but I’ll take it!)  Inspired by a recent Whole Foods Blog post, I decided to try to eat foods in their natural state as much as possible yesterday.  The blog suggested to celebrate the summer by turning off the oven and enjoying fresh, uncooked food.  So I did!  Well, except for lunch- can’t always avoid leftovers.

Breakfast was a really juicy Peach

Lunch was Leftover Tofu & Green Beans.  I’ll spare you the repeat picture.  Afternoon snack was  a plum, and sadly this picture shows the only bite I took.  It was unbelievably bitter!


Dinner was inspired by a recent episode of Everyday Italian.  I made a simple Mushroom Salad and ate it alongside a warm piece of sourdough topped with pesto and fresh tomatoes.    The Mushroom Salad recipe calls for thinly sliced mushrooms in a lemon juice and olive oil dressing, garnished with parsley and salt and pepper.  I liked everything but the parsley, so I’ll try this again with some different greenery.  I also added some scallions and garlic salt, as I pretty much add garlic to everything. 

Finished off my evening with a little Superliga action.  Now that the World Cup is over, it’s all about MLS Soccer action.   Cheers to the New England Revolution and their 1-0 victory over Pumas! 

Drinking a Mexican beer while cheering for the American side…

My friend Lauren is coming in town today, and we’re headed for one of my favorite lunch spots, Vert Kitchen.  Then it’s on to a Happy Hour and the Paul McCartney concert tonight with my mom.  What a great Thursday! 

2 responses to “Veggin’ out: Day 2

  1. Preston July 15, 2010 at 10:05 am

    I’m happy to hear there’s support for the Revs out in Colorado.

  2. lauren July 16, 2010 at 3:39 am

    the Paul McCartney concert is AMAZING!!!! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

