Vegan for a day…or two

I think the word Vegan is associated most often with thoughts of “crazy granola breath hippie!”  But in reality, Veganism is simply a choice to eat only plant-based foods. Doesn’t sound so looney that way, huh? What’s scary about the food path that I’m on is that it feels quite slippery. Meaning the less I eat, the less I want to eat. I’m not talking quantity either.  I began by giving up beef, then pork shortly thereafter, then without even really realizing it, I’d given up chicken too.  Now I find myself avoiding dairy.  I’m a little scared at the ideas my brain is producing regarding food, so I’m just trying to relax and enjoy eating well without too much extra thought. 

 That being said, I’ve decided to try to eat Vegan for a few days, to see if I feel any different, or notice any associated food prep time or cost incurred.  Yesterday was pretty easy as I went out to lunch at Sputnik, which is most notably a hipster bar, but they offer up lots of Veg choices during the daytime. 

Hearts of Palm Salad w/ Creamy Mustard Dressing

Vegan Tacos.  O…M…G.  Black beans, corn, pepitas, avos and guacamole crema.

For the DIY portion of Vegan day(s) I made some roasted green beans and tofu with Peanut Sauce

My favorite way to cook green beans is under the broiler with just a little olive oil, salt and pepper.  I’m not going to post the Peanut Sauce recipe because it wasn’t that great.  Tasted too much like just straight peanut butter, no matter how much Siriracha I added.  Off to find a better one for next time…

 

On a delicious end note, meet my new favorite snack: Sahale Pomegranate & Vanilla Cashews

I got to try these on my Jet Blue flight back from Boston and they are amazing.  I had half the bag last night for dessert, and finished it off this morning with my coffee.  Sweet, crunchy, addicting!

  

One response to “Vegan for a day…or two

  1. Preston July 14, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    That food from Sputnik looks real good. The next time I’m in town, I vote to eat there.

Leave a Reply

