On the hunt…

For a really good, not too expensive food processor.  Reason: there are lots of yummy vegetarian meal/side/sauce recipes that require one, and I want to be able to expand my cooking abilities in my new (much smaller) kitchen. 

The meal that really got me thinking about processing was at The Otherside Cafe in Boston

It was my first raw vegan meal, with mock chicken salad, some spicy asian thing and a dip.  Yah, I’m being vague…all you need to know is that it was really tasty, fresh and I’d eat it a few times a week if I had the option!

Here’s a recipe that looked the most similar to what was in Otherside’s Mock Chicken Salad

Cashew or “Mock Chicken” Salad

1/4 c. sunflower seeds
1 c. cashews
1 c. pecans
1 cucumber, peeled/seeded/cut into chunks
2 green onions, cut into smaller pieces
1 celery stick, cut into smaller chunks
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1 tsp dried dill
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp curry powder
1/2 apple
(1 avocado)

Put the nuts, seeds, seasonings and lemon juice in food processor. Pulse for a few seconds until the pieces are smaller. Add remaining ingredients, including avocado (which was my addition and it was AMAZING!!!). Pulse for a few more seconds until mixture is in smaller bits, but not smooth. Spoon into red peppers or serve in a romaine wrap. You will love it!

 

I can’t wait to make this! 

Leave a Reply

