Precious Tomatoes

I’ve been having serious blog envy lately, most specifically with the simple, clean layout of Smitten Kitten, and of course the beautiful photos of her dishes.  Recently she’s made a breakfast pizza, which I can’t wait to make for a little brunch party, and also has talked about the joys of slow roasted tomatoes.  The concept is simple, buy small cherry tomatoes, slice in half, drizzle with oil, salt and pepper, and place on roasting pan with whole cloves of garlic.  Here’s where you employ a glass of wine and a Red Box movie. (In my case- Precious)  Put these babies in the oven at 225 and wait for an entire three hours before taking them out.  Patience is delicious my friends, as what results is a lovely roasted tomato that is dry on the outside but bursts with juice when you bite into it.  Perfect accompaniment for pretty much anything.  I can see this little effort being done weekly in Casa Meg, as I don’t care much for raw tomatoes but am always looking for a way to jazz up my dishes.  Only difference is that next time I’ll buy larger tomatoes. 

This first batch is entirely consumed.  I used them to jazz up my lunch salads and add a boost to my dinner of spinach spaghetti and broccoli. 

While waiting for the roasting to complete, I finally got to watch Precious.  Since the height of my sickness this week, I’ve been really really fortunate with my Red Box timing and (in my opinion) have gotten all of the best movies.  Also watched Amelia last night- what a rad chick she was!  She stopped the minister midway through her wedding vows and said “Hey, can we remove that “promise to obey” part?”   Pretty forward thinking for 1930!

But back to Precious.  What a beautiful, sad film.  It broke my heart, and also inspired me to do something that I’ve been wanting to do for a long time.  I’ve filled out an application to be a Tutor at the Literacy Coalition of Colorado.  Hopefully I’ll get placed into a class and have the chance to help adults learn English as their second language, get their GED’s, or be able to read to their children for the first time. 

 

One response to “Precious Tomatoes

  1. Preston March 15, 2010 at 6:03 am

    I love that you’re trying to be a tutor.

Leave a Reply

