Good Times, Bad Times

The Good: Kicking this week off right with some seriously self-indulgent girl time.  My friend Mack and I finally treated ourselves to Frasca in Boulder.  The owner, Bobby Stuckey (who is a Master Sommelier) and chef Lachlan Mackinnon-Patterson met while working at French Laundry.  Yes, that French Laundry.  Needless to say, my meal at Frasca was one of the best I’ve ever had. 

Frico Caldo…You say potato, I say delicious.

Mussels and Diver Scallop soup:  Best Mussels I’ve ever had- creamy, no grit, clean taste.  Mmmm!!

OMG MUSHROOM RAVIOLI:  There are no words.  Best dish I’ve ever had. 

Tuna Main:  We subbed this out as the prix fixe main was a mortadello, spinach and ricotta stuffed chicken breast and I’m saying no to all non-fishy meats these days.  I can’t be too critical when ordering away from the menu, but this was my least favorite dish of the night.  The fish had great texture and was cooked perfectly but it just wasn’t cry-in-your-chair amazing like the rest of the meal.

  And of course I dug in before thinking to snap a pic….

Choco-love:  Really not sure what this dish was actually called but it had chocolate and hazlenuts in it which is my favorite combo ever.

So all in all, it was such a lovely meal, with great company.  They even tossed some gratis schwag our way.  Hello beautiful new tee!

Now it’s time for The Bad: This was my last dinner for a long time with my partner-in-crime (and food) Mackenzie.  She is following her heart tummy and moving to the Bay Area to join the Slow Food movement.  She was a catalyst for change regarding the way I eat, and is one of the best friends I’ve ever had.  I’ll miss her dearly, but am so happy she is strong enough to recognize what she wants and go fearlessly after it. 

Buona fortuna amore!

I absolutely cannot wait for our October date at French Laundry! 

(And Ad Hoc, Bouchon & Quince please)

 

One response to “Good Times, Bad Times

  1. carissajaded January 26, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    That looks absolutely delicious! And sometimes i think the things you eat are nasty!

Leave a Reply

