Back to life, back to reality

Bahston was great, as I previously spelled out for you en fotographias.  Now it’s back to my normal working hungry girl life.  Tuesday began with some off-site business meetings, so after they were through I stopped by the big guys house to contribute to the “we must eat this 10 lb bag of Spinach from Costco before it expires” effort.  The fruits of my hasty labor were a dilla (falafel, hummus, feta, siracha) and a side salad with my new favorite dressing: Marie’s Blue Cheese Vinagrette.  Added some Red Peppers on the side for crunch.  Holla!

The rest of the day continued on as normal, with no gym stop.  Lazy pants!  I was too excited to get home and try out a recipe I found on (where else?) the New York Times Website.  We all know I go crazy for Spicy Black Bean Burgers from Morningstar, so when I saw this recipe for a savory White Bean Burger, I had to try it out.  It was fairly easy to assemble, but during the process I thought to myself that I might need to add a food processor or magic bullet type gadget to my kitchen arsenal.  I had to do my choppin’ in a blender…

Just so you all know, I don’t have any illusions of being a neat chef.  It’s just not in the cards for me.  Here’s what my kitch looked like en route to White Bean Burger Heaven:

Oh yeah, that’s a Slap Chop you see.  Got it for Christmas from mi madre and yesterday was its kitchen début.  It did well with the carrots but completely met its match with my small yellow onion.  Slap Chop became Slap Stop.  You followin’ me camera guy?  Kind of a bummer…


Moving on from that little  bump, I got everything assembled and into the pan:

(Note to self: Remove gooey spatula from shot before snapping photo)

And this is what the finished product looked like:

I made my own “special sauce” with chipolte hummus and a tiny bit of veganaise for creaminess. Add Avocados and go to town, my friends. 

These burgers crumbled like the Berlin Wall but man were they were tasty! 

What’s the best way to top off a good dinner you ask?  Rummikub, of course!

The big guy dominated.   He didn’t go to MIT, but he is wicked smaht. 

 

2 responses to “Back to life, back to reality

  1. grant January 20, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    Avocados are the best food on earth. Did you try toasting your buns. They won’t break apart as much if you toast them.

Leave a Reply

