La Bella Sunday

Sunday was all about the snackin. Had a bit of a lazy morning, slept in till 9 which is epically late for me, and then woke up to some french press coffee and a very hunky man in the kitchen making  my favorite breakfast: Tofu Scramble.  I’ve got to give a shout out to Watercourse Foods for introducing me to this marvel, which is basically like an egg scramble but sans eggs.  My favorite recipe has come from Vegan Dad, and is super simple to make.  You can add pretty much whatever extras in there that you would like.  I love to add fresh spinach, tomatoes, mushrooms and feta cheese.  Check out that sexy food:

 

Went to the Rec after breakfast brunch and ran on the treadmill for about three miles, finishing my last mile in 8 minutes and 27 seconds.  I don’t think I ever ran that fast even in elementary school so I was pretty excited!  Rounded out the wRECkage by splashing around in the pool for awhile which is always relaxing when its negative 50 degrees outside.  (Well, not really, but there is snow on the ground…)

Came back home and cooked up a little ‘dilla.  Whole wheat tortilla, Falafel, Spinach, Carrots, Artichoke Hearts, Hummus, Feta and Siriacha.  Toast it on both sides in a skillet to get that cheese all melty, y’all, and you’ve got yourself one bitchin’ lunch.  What is not bitchin’, however, is my photo taking skillz…

The afternoon was spent watching the Jersey Shore (can’t get enough of the big hair and bad outfits!) and diddling around on my iPhone.  I am a huge fan of Scrabble and so naturally I’m in love with Words with Friends and have about 5 or 6 games going at one time.  I’d happily have 20 games going if I could.  (No seriously, friend me…I’m meghr4)  The afternoon was also spent contemplating dinner, so naturally the latest copy of Whole Foods’ Delicious Magazine came into play.  I decided to make Fettuccine with Artichokes, and a side of Brussels Sprouts cause I just can’t get enough of those little beauties.   I skimped a bit on this recipe and used whole wheat spaghetti because I already had it, and the Spinach Fettuccine was a whopping $5 for one package.   I also forgot to buy the lemon.  I hate to blame the demise of this dish on those two things, because maybe I just wouldn’t have liked it anyways.  It was kind of boring and flavorless, but it did the trick hunger-wise.  Naturally I forgot to take pictures of it until it was finished:

The highlight was def. the Brussels Sprouts.  They were improvsed and turned out delicious.  They were first prepped: (Soak in lukewarm water for 10 mins to remove buggies, cut off coarse stem on bottom and chop in half, removing all dead or wilted outer leaves) and then tossed into a saute pan with butter, shallots and raisins.  I sauteed the sprouts for 5 or so minutes until they were lightly coated with the butter and beginning to brown.  They then were transfered into a baking pan and stuck in the oven at 350 to roast for another 25 mins or so.

Mmmm, such gorgeous colors.  I really should be Bella Brussels Sprouts….

Finished off this delicious day with some Chocolate Covered Strawberries and  Life is Beautiful.  I’m about 11 years late watching this film, but it still had a profound effect on me.  Buon giorno, Principessa!

Leave a Reply

