There are never any treadmills available at the gym on January 2nd…

What is it about the start of a New Year that has us bolting to the gym, flushing cigarettes down the toilet and cutting up those Nordstrom credit cards?  It’s like another addiction we can’t pass up- promising ourselves that this next year will be better, shinier, thinner than the last, only to end up disappointing ourselves over another failed resolution. 

I propose we do away with resolutions and just commit to being committed.  Wether that is to your health, to your family, to your job, to your relationships, to your budget, to yourself- that’s all your decision.  But we definitely don’t have to wait until the clock strikes midnight on December 31st to take action.  To quote my newest favorite band, The Avett Brothers

“Decide what to be and go be it!”  

I should have made this proposal before the 31st of last month, but I’m a bit of a procrastinator.  (I still have some Holiday cards to mail…)  A few of my friends did in fact make some resolutions, my most favorite one being Carissa’s:

“To stop being a hoe and a loon” 

I have to say, love, while I don’t understand the “hoe” part,  at times I agree with the loon part.  (Ahem, like in all situations involving Facebook crushes, actual crushes, guys you went to high school with, guys you went to college with, guys you’ve made out with, guys you’d like to make out with, and that Turkish guy from the tea shop)

To my dear friend Carissa, and her surely-to-be-magical 2010

3 responses to “There are never any treadmills available at the gym on January 2nd…

  1. bellabroccoli January 7, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    OMG how did I even write this post and comment on the loonacy without referring to your serious Health Phobias?! I’ve disappointed myself, and my readers….(Lauren and Amber)

  2. Carissajaded January 7, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    I am working on the loon thing… the hoe part, nah… maybe I should be more of one!

    But dude, I def. haven’t been a loon when it comes to that turkish guy… He has called (CALLED NOT TEXTED) every single day for over two weeks, and I haven’t answered ONCE! But I did text once and lie and say that I was very ill and couldn’t answer the phone…

  3. bellabroccoli January 7, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    Hahah, that is awesome! Was it things like:

    “I want to touch your silken hands”
    “Your eyes are pools of moonstone I want to do a cannonball into”

    Heeheeeee 🙂

Leave a Reply

