Out of the Kitchen, Onto the Couch

From one of my favorite ever New York Times Articles:

“Today the average American spends a mere 27 minutes a day on food preparation (another four minutes cleaning up); that’s less than half the time that we spent cooking and cleaning up when Julia arrived on our television screens. It’s also less than half the time it takes to watch a single episode of “Top Chef” or “Chopped” or “The Next Food Network Star.” What this suggests is that a great many Americans are spending considerably more time watching images of cooking on television than they are cooking themselves — an increasingly archaic activity they will tell you they no longer have the time for.”  (Full article here)

I read so many books, articles and blogs about food, food production, recipes and methods.  I fantasize about elaborate meals that I’ve never made.   Am I as equally as guilty as those who watch cooking shows all day long but never step into the kitchen?  Sometimes I feel that way.  It’s like cooking is a big daydream I can feel comfortable getting lost in.  I rarely bring those daydreams to fruition in an a kitchen that exists outside of my head.  Maybe that should be my New Years Resolution.  Cook, and cook without abandon.  Hmm, that’s an interesting idea.  I’ll think about it later.  For now, I have a book to get back to…

Leave a Reply

